TFS7708 high idle temperature.

18 posts / 0 new

Hi to all.
I have a design using a TFS7708 switcher. Input is 380VDC ( from a PFC) and output is 26V @ 15A.
I have noticed that at no load the TFS is getting quite warm. It is on a 8dec C/watt heatsink and it is at about 60degC
with no load. Ambient @ 28deg C.
I have not used this chip before so I'm not sure what is "normal" :0)
If I disable the main switcher and only leave the small flyback running , the temperature drops to almost ambient , so it's definitely
the main converter generating the heat.
If I run the main converter at high load( about 350W) I can run for a few minutes before the heatsink gets to 80deg C so I think
the basic design is ok. I tried increacing my transformer magnetising inductance ( I'm now at 20mH) and that seemed to help a little
but I'm now in danger of saturating under high load.
If this is not normal , where can I start looking to find what is causing the heating of the switcher?
I'm fairly new to this , so I may be missing something obvious :0)
cheers
Rob

Can you post schematic?

Relevant part of schematic attached. Output diodes are STPS30150 's. Output inductor is 47uH.

TitleSize
ForwardConv.JPG137.18 KB

First off, I note that your design is set for 132kHz operation. If you haven't done so already, you will need to gap the transformer to reduce the primary magnetizing inductance. This will allow the drain to ring down sufficiently to recharge the high side bias. and prevent pulse skipping On our 132 kHz designs, we used 0.5 mil (1 mil = 0.001 inch) transformer tape for the gap.
I also note that you snubber cap is on the large side. (4.7 nF) try cutting the value in half, as I suspect the transformer may not be resetting properly. You can check the switch waveforms to make sure of this. Gapping the transformer will also help with transformer reset.

Thanks for the tip. I am actually running at 66Khz , I didn't update the cap on the schematic , sorry.